The National Agri-Marketing Association

The nation's largest association for professionals in marketing and agribusiness

Ag Association Leader of the Year

Past Ag Association Leader Award Recipents

About the Award

The Ag Association Leader of the Year award recognizes outstanding achievement in association or commodity organization.  


Agricultural associations and other commodity organizations represent a vibrant and influential sector of agri-marketing. National, state and local policy increasingly affect the free exchange of good and services. International demand is often the domestic price determinant for agricultural commodities. Strong leadership is essential and NAMA wishes to recognize outstanding achievement through this award. Solicited from senior level position holders in association service, nominees should exemplify excellence in leadership by their significant contributions to their association and the ag industry.  The award is presented during the spring Agri-Marketing Conference.


Individuals must demonstrate leadership and innovation at the most senior level. This award goes to the person leading the charge of his/her institution or organization. Nominee exemplifies the qualities of a true leader and is a visionary, a pacesetter, and a colleague with business know-how in the not-for-profit realm.

How to Enter

1. Select a nominee. This nominee should exemplify the qualities of a true leader. Consult the eligibility requirements closely.

2. Fill out the application and then address the four areas of outstanding leadership on a separate sheet of paper. Include your contact information, if NAMA has questions regarding the application, the nominator will be contacted. All nominations will be kept confidential. Nominees not honored for 2020 will be automatically considered for next year.

3. Send the application and narrative to NAMA by January 17, 2020.

Nominees will be judged solely on their write-ups. Please do not send any other appendices, video-tapes, or samples. There are no entry fees. For questions about the entry rules, contact Jenny Pickett at or at (913) 491-6500.


All nominations will be considered. The National Agri-Marketing Association's Professional Recognition Committee will establish a judging panel comprised of industry leaders to review submissions. The panel will ensure that nominees are eligible and all application materials are included. 

Judging Criteria

Please address the following areas of outstanding leadership on a separate sheet(s) of paper, not to exceed four pages:

Leadership (40): Discuss the nominee’s unique approach to leading others. Demonstrate the nominee’s role as a leader within the agricultural industry and discuss the far-reaching impact on their association. How has the nominee made exceptional contributions and exemplified excellence?

Innovative Ability (20): Discuss the nominee's understanding of current issues and needs related to agribusiness. How has the nominee's leadership style contributed to unique approaches and demonstrated leadership in action?  Please cite practical examples from the nominee's professional career.

Accomplishment (20): Discuss the creative solutions of the nominee regarding issues of national importance. Demonstrate how achievements distinguish the nominee. Primary emphasis should be placed on accomplishments within the past 24 months.

Industry Leadership (20): Discuss the role of the nominee in professional organizations.  Discuss the nominee's contributions to the ag community through service to organizations and industry.

Ag Association Leader of the Year Application

Please fill out the online nomination form

Submit nominations by January 17, 2020.

For questions, contact Jenny Pickett:
(913) 491-6500

Latest News

What's New