The National Agri-Marketing Association

The nation's largest association for professionals in marketing and agribusiness

Agribusiness Leader of the Year

Past Agribusiness Leader of the Year Recipients

About the Award

The Agribusiness Leader of the Year award recognizes leadership achievement in agriculture and the food and fiber industry. This award attracts agribusiness leaders and leaders in private, public or academic service.


The Agribusiness Leader of the Year award is NAMA's highest honor. The award honors an outstanding leader in agribusiness, education, government service or other agribusiness related area. Solicited from senior level position holders in private, public or academic service, nominees should exemplify excellence in agribusiness by their significant contributions to the industry. The award is presented during the spring Agri-Marketing Conference.


Individuals must demonstrate leadership and innovation at the most senior level. This award goes to the person leading the charge of his/her company, institution or organization. Nominee exemplifies the qualities of a true leader and is a visionary, a pacesetter, and a colleague with business know-how. This nominee has led the company/institution/organization during the past 12 months. In addition, nominees should be considered leaders in agribusiness through service to organization and industry initiatives.

Nominees need NOT be NAMA members.

How to Enter

To enter, follow these steps:

1. Select a nominee. This nominee should exemplify the qualities of a true leader. Consult the eligibility requirements closely.

2. Fill out the application and then address the four areas of outstanding leadership on a separate sheet of paper. Include your contact information, if NAMA has questions regarding the application, the nominator will be contacted. All nominations will be kept confidential. Nominees not honored for 2020 will be automatically considered for next year.

3. Send the application and narrative to NAMA by January 17, 2020.

Nominees will be judged solely on their write-ups. Please do not send any other appendices, video-tapes, or samples. There are no entry fees. For questions about the entry rules, contact Jenny Pickett at or at (913) 491-6500.


All nominations will be considered. The judging panel will ensure that nominees are eligible and all application materials are included. This panel will review submissions and may also exercise the option of surfacing nominees. 

Judging Criteria

Please address the following areas of outstanding leadership on a separate sheet(s) of paper, not to exceed four pages:

Leadership (40): Discuss the nominee’s unique approach to leading others. Demonstrate the nominee’s role as a leader within the agricultural industry and discuss the far-reaching impact on the agribusiness community. How has the nominee made exceptional contributions and exemplified excellence in agribusiness?

Innovative Ability (20): Discuss the nominee's understanding of current issues and needs related to agribusiness. How has the nominee's leadership style contributed to unique approaches and demonstrated leadership in action. Please cite practical examples from the nominee's professional career.

Accomplishment (20): Discuss the creative solutions of the nominee regarding issues of national importance. Demonstrate how achievements distinguish the nominee. Primary emphasis should be placed on accomplishments within the past 24 months.

Industry Leadership (20): Discuss the role of the nominee in professional organizations. Primary emphasis should be placed on organizations that provide service to agribusiness, farmers or ranchers. Discuss the nominee's contributions to the ag community through service to organizations and industry.

Agribusiness Leader of the Year Application

Please fill out the online nomination form

Submit nominations by January 17, 2020.

For questions, contact Jenny Pickett:
(913) 491-6500

Latest News

What's New